Tales of the Revolution

The era of the Revolutionary War has always been one of my favorites to study.  It is very intriguing to learn about the people and places that defined this great nation once upon a time.  As most of us realize upon growing older, there are two sides to every story.  This great time in our history was no different.  As children, we were taught to think of the Red Coats as evil and the Blue Coats as good; everything that England stood for as wrong and the ideals of the Patriots as righteous.  None of us were there, of course, so there are many details that we will neither know nor understand.  However, I love delving deeper, discovering that there were real villains and genuine heroes on BOTH sides; that there were uncouth political practices and outstanding principles on BOTH sides.  Now before you accuse me of being unpatriotic, understand that though I’ve gathered information from different viewpoints, my heart has always been behind the Rebels, what they stood for, all they accomplished to be victorious, and the heroism displayed by men and women who should never have won such a feat.  That stated, there were Patriots who were not heroes, and Red Coats who were not villains.  One of the things that has made an impression on me is the realization that all of these people lived together in the Colonies.  The Brits and Americans were at one time the same people.  They were intermarried, parent and child, friends, brothers, merchants and customers.  This hostility was as much brother against brother as the Civil War, but I don’t think a lot of us realize that.  When I ponder that fact, it makes this age all the more heartbreaking.  I find thinking about these tangled relational lines very challenging and stimulating and they make me want to write a book of my own.  Here are some reading suggestions I hope you’ll enjoy:

 

The Real Benedict Arnold by Jim Murphy (nonfiction):  Whether you know the story of this man or not, I’m pretty sure we all think “traitor” at the mention of his name.  To be called a Benedict Arnold is certainly not a compliment, even if you never really knew what he did.

I originally picked up this book for Nathaniel, but couldn’t help reading it myself.  This biography was so thought-provoking to me that I’ve continued to think about it long after turning the last page.

Did you know that Arnold was not only a Patriot, but a very fervent one?  Were you aware of all that he did for our country way before he ever turned sides?  I had never heard how highly George Washington thought of him before reading this.  What on earth could turn such a passionate, stalwart young Revolutionary against his country, his people, his leaders?  I am absolutely not going to tell you, but I think you’ll find his story something worth mulling over :).

The Frontiersman’s Daughter & Courting Morrow Little by Laura Frantz:  Mrs. Frantz is a new author and let me tell you, picking up her books was one of the best things I did last year.  Her characters have a depth nearly unequaled, woven together with a story you can experience with all of your senses.  What I loved most about these books was that these were women that I could relate with, their everyday struggles and joys resonated in my own life, challenging me to go deeper into my heart and further in my walk with Christ.  Though the backdrop of these stories is the Revolution, you’ll really enjoy the more sideline focus.  I loved living away from the war, so to speak, and out on the frontier with people surviving during this time, but not completely enmeshed in all of the history we’ve heard and read about.  My perspective and beliefs about this time period were stretched and tested as I had the opportunity to view the Revolution from different eyes than I’d been taught to see through.  You do NOT want to miss these incredible stories and if they are the only two books you read this summer, your time will be well-spent!

The American Patriot Series (Daughter of Liberty, Native Son, and Wind of the Spirit) by J.M. Hochstetler:  If you like front-line history, edgy, suspenseful, romantic, and informative, take a dive into this series by Hochstetler.  The first three books are published already, but two more are on the horizon.  You’ll find yourself taken with the trials and triumphs of Jon and Elizabeth and wish more than once that you were there to help them out!  However, you’ll also find yourself thinking about some of these British officers in a different light, hating the ethical quandries they were put in as well.  I was particularly intrigued by the plight of the Indians during this time.  Unfortunately, it is not an issue we think of often enough and in all honesty, I’m mostly ashamed at our mistreatment of this noble people over the centuries.

The Wind Dancer by Jamie Carie:  You’ll love reading about Isabelle Renoir, a spirited young woman who lives with astounding courage and passion, seems to fear nothing, dances in the wild, and lives to tell about it!  Carie is also a newer author who entered the publishing world with a bang and manages to create an even stronger novel every time she writes.  You’ll love Isabelle, especially because you’re never quite sure what she’s going to do next.   Particularly of interest to me was the character, George Rogers Clark.  If you’ve heard his name, it is probably due to the fact that his younger brother was William Clark of Lewis and Clark fame.  There seems to be a dichotomy of character in George Clark as here he is painted a hero, but in Laura Frantz’s books, we receive a different viewpoint.  I’ll let you decide on your own what to make of this enigma :).

Washington’s Lady by Nancy Moser:  You can read my review of this wonderful book by checking out the Ladies of History series.

The Scarlet-Stockinged Spy by Trinka Hakes Noble:  This is another beautiful book during this time period that you’ll definitely want to check out.  You can take a peek at my previous review HERE.

 

So, if you’re looking for some good historical reads to curl up with this summer, these are definitely a good place to start!

Leave a comment